What is F2?

The FIA Formula 2 Championship took over the GP2 series at the begining of the 2017 season.  Started in 2005, the GP2 series has firmly established itself on the world stage as one of the premier one-make racing championships. Formula 2 will continue to provide the same opportunities for young drivers to show their talent in front of Formula 1 teams.  The two first GP2 Champions’ , Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton, graduated to F1 underline, so as 2015 Champion Stoffel Vandoorne in 2017. George Russell took the first ART F2 driver champion's title in 2018 and he is promoted to F1 in the following year.

State of the art technologies and simplicity of a concept financially reasonable have made of former GP2 Series now renamed FIA Formula 2 a winning formula. F2 runs alongside Formula One for each of its 12 meetings calendar. The championship is  a professional and popular success and is the best way to enter Formula One.

Format of the race week-end:

Friday Saturday Sunday
  • Free Sessions (45 minutes)
  • Qualifying (30 minutes)
  • Race 1: starting grid determined by Friday’s qualifying.
  • Race 2, Sprint: the starting grid for Race 2 will be decided by the rankings from Race 1, the 8 top finishers will start in reverse order.

Points allocation :

Race 1 Race 2
The top ten secures 25, 18, 15, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2, 1 respectively. 1 additional point will be awarded to the driver who secures the fastest lap and 4 to the pole winner. Top 8 drivers secure points (15, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2, 1). 1 point for the fastest man.



Find more info on the Official website.